Queen Mary’s Dolls’ House
Official Souvenir Guide
John Martin Robinson
ISBN: 978 1 90974 114 0
Size: 220 x 220 mm / 8.75 x 8.75 in.
In association with: Royal Collection
Date published: May, 2012
UK £6.95 /US $10.95
- Illustrated with 100 images including detailed photography of the rooms, miniature artworks and objects, and the house’s intricate fixtures and fittings
Queen Mary’s Dolls’ House is the largest, most beautiful and most famous dolls’ house in the world. It is on permanent display at Windsor Castle and is one of the castle’s most popular attractions. Built for Queen Mary by the leading British architect Sir Edwin Lutyens between 1921 and 1924, the Dolls’ House includes contributions from over 1,500 of the finest artists, craftsmen and manufacturers of the early 20th century. It even has a garden designed by Gertrude Jekyll, and a resident snail. From life below stairs to the high-society setting of the saloon and dining room, no detail was forgotten. There is a library bursting with original works by the top literary names of the day, such as Thomas Hardy and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. The cellar is full of tiny bottles, each containing a thimbleful of the finest wine. The Queen’s Dolls’ House is even equipped with electricity, hot and cold water, and working lifts. The book is lavishly illustrated throughout, so that readers can explore every corner of this magical residence.
(Available in the book trade in a previous edition with a different cover, ISBN 978 1 85759 763 9)
This title is one of seven official souvenir guides that Scala publishes for the Royal Collection. Other titles published by Scala for the Royal Collection include Dutch Landcapes, Italian Paintings and Drawings, The Northern Renaissance and The Royal Collection: Treasures.
John Martin Robinson is a leading British architectural historian.